Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Fashion does it Better
16 février 2007

London, great expectations and huge disappointment

London fashion week is ending in a few hours from now with Marc by Marc Jacobs. Nice ending, I’m really looking forward to seeing what it looks like after his wonderful show in New York. But I’m really sad as well and much disappointed by this week.
London was synonym of new faces you don’t see somewhere else, of big surprises and exciting unexpected newcomers. London was such a marvelous, intriguing laboratory of new model trends that saw the first steps of models like Helena Magone who became a favorite of Antonio Marras one week later.
This seems to belong to the past, though. Revamped, re-hyped… call it how you want but London has changed and not for the best. At least, it’s my opinion. I don’t really appreciate to see a truly original fashion week turn into this kind of ersatz. Ersatz of New York and Paris, such a failed mixture that leaves you even more hungry because of the large, high quality panel of models featured on the agencies showcards one week ago. Where are Holly Burrows or Dei Auruskeviciute, two of the most remarkable new faces announced last week ? Especially if you know the huge amount of editorial work Holly is getting these days in UK, this is really disappointing. Where are Julia Välimäki, Margarita Babina and all those girls that were so rare excepted in London ? Only Zuzana Macasova still shines on the british catwalks. And why are Alice Gibb, Helena Magone or Tasha Wright so hard to spot on the runways ?
Coco Rocha now appears on London shows. I've nothing against her, she's one of my favourite models actually. But her presence here combined with the lack of new faces tell a lot. I’d rather have seen a wonderful range of collections worn by a bunch of strangers I’d have been pleased to learn to know. Well, it’s not that bad: Paul Smith was a huge moment for my eyes, Giles had some dazzling pieces among his usual mess and I’ve noticed nice outfits here and there as always. As in every fashion week.
All this been said, one question remains in my mind: is Marc Jacobs able to save London ? After his wonderful s/s 07 season and a magnificent performance in his hometown, I may still rely on him…

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
A
I couldn't agree with you more, I was SOOO disapointed. As you saw by my blog, I only would wear 5 of the outfits from the majority of lfw. I was looking foward to it SO much, London is always so cool always different from NY, Paris and Milan.<br /> <br /> le sigh :-(
Répondre
Publicité