Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Fashion does it Better
8 août 2007

Guest !

Let's hear from our dear friend and collaborator Michael about promising models, cause he can describe a model like none else...

"With each passing season, the sheer amount of new faces to burst onto
the modeling scene seems to become increasingly innumerous. As fashion
itself lives on the very idea of newness, so does that notion of beauty
within the industry and those paragons of beauty themselves: models.
However, among the sea of new faces, a few girls surface who truly are
models to watch develop. For some girls it is those often ambiguous
aesthetics that seem to breed success, while others generate buzz
through bookings and prestige. Regardless, these new faces seem
destined for great things in the industry.

Sophie Wilkinson

Sophie_Wilkinsonsophie_wilkinson

The recent retooling of Women Milan’s board marks a conscious shift
towards really developing their own enviable group of new girls from
around the globe. Sophie Wilkinson is one of their most incredible
finds as of late. This Australian is a far departure from the
McNeil-mania that has overshadowed all things model in the country as
of late. No, this redhead has a unique versatility that vacillates
between serene, poised beauty, to a quirky aesthetic that would look
right at home at Supreme. Vogue Australia is already buzzing over
Sophie’s future runway mileage in Milan, and notes that New York is
taking notice as well. Sophie stands at this very moment, as one of the
more promising girls to watch next season.


Lucyna Amszej

lucyna3

A mere three days after COACD announced that Lucyna was making the
rounds in New York, Women Management had signed her. That sort of
endorsement from Paul Rowland and company generates the kind of buzz
that is rare for new models. For me, Lucyna is one of the clear
standouts among the heard of Polish models that are developing
throughout the industry. If her recent test shoot with Seiji Fujimori
is any indication, behind those smoldering blue eyes and wavy brunette
locks, lays something special: a playful persona who certainly knows
how to translate emotions into images. I would be willing to place my
bets on Lucyna as being the breakout star for Women NYC this coming
season.

Oxana Proskalovich

oxana_proskalovichoxana_proskalovich

I should preface by saying that I did not discover Oxana on my own.
Maud and Penelope introduced me to this stunning girl a few days ago,
and I was instantly taken aback by her alarming beauty. For me, the
exaggerated heart shaped quality of her face is made all the more
captivating by her haunting blue eyes. Oxana is not your typical
porcelain-doll model though. Her bone structure makes her a serious
editorial contender, with those peculiar angles that tend to generate
runway exclusivity. Well, at least in my hyperbolic, fantasy world of
castings they do. The most interesting thing to watch for with Oxana
will be how her representation develops globally, and I for one cannot
wait.



Michela Poulsen

Michela_Poulsenmichaela_poulsen

What can you say about a girl as undeniably beautiful as Michela? This
Danish knockout is certainly a face that people should be watching at
the moment. Her pristine icy blue eyes, in combination with the
adorable freckles and emotive face make Michela a force with which to
be reckoned. I love that even when she looks cute enough to win over
the casting directors at Teen Vogue, there is still that intangible
editorial quality in her every glance and pose. Hopefully Michela’s
representation will expand in the next few months as she would be a
great addition to most agencies. This uncertainty in her direct future
though is hardly enough to detract from the potential Michela has this
very moment.



Samantha Ypma

samantha_ypma5

Our very own Canadian darling over at the Fashion Spot, is as beautiful
a person as she is a model. The genius management at Mode Models and
New York Model Management have certainly positioned young Samantha as a
model just beginning to come into her own. After all, a face as dynamic
as Samantha’s, especially in combination with such an outgoing
personality, simply cannot be denied. Her fair, angular features in
combination with those feline eyes and newly cropped hair make Samantha
Ypma instantly memorable. However, it is her constant enthusiasm for
this industry that makes Samantha as endearing as she is stunning.


Alex Shaffer

alex_shafferalex_shaffer

What can I say, other than I am quite smitten with young Alex Shaffer.
Her face is just impeccably modern and she has that quality upon which
the best editorials are built and styled. Don’t believe me? Take a look
at her latest batch of energetic polaroids and tell me she’s not a muse
in the making. Now that she has the big boys at One Model Management
behind her, I can only imagine that Alex is the stuff of dreams for a
Marc by Marc Jacobs show. Like Ali Michael, Heather Bratton, Alison Nix
and an elite group of other American girls before her, Alex is a
departure from traditional beauty myths of this country, and can
translate aesthetically across the globe.


Claudia Tassone

Claudia_Tassoneclaudia_tassone

Personally, Claudia is one of those models I live to discover and
observe. After seasons upon seasons of new girls that tend to differ
only slightly from one another, its girls such as Claudia that remind
me how much beauty is left to be discovered. Her return to modeling has
been met with reported bookings for i-D and Vogue, as well as an
appearance in the recent Moschino: Cheap & Chic campaign. If her unique
looks were not enough to garner the attention she deserves, then this
impressive rebound should certainly be enough to secure some great
runway mileage next season.

Anyhow, these are just my opinions on some of the new models that Maud
and Penelope have highlighted recently. I obviously have no more
insider information than the next person, but that doesn’t preclude me
from dreaming. Only time will tell…"

-Michael

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
hey, he is simply telling his crushes !!!!<br /> there is no speculation here, just a place to express and to share thoughts...<br /> <br /> Amelia your post is so true and lovely, reading it has made my day ;)<br /> take care honey<br /> xx<br /> Maud
Répondre
M
Um, that guy obviously has no clue what he's talking about. 2/3 of these girls aren't going anywhere, and what's with all the pretentious jibber-jabber? He could almost rival models.com in that department. Ridiculous.
Répondre
A
OOOOOh, my dearS! (sorry, I still don't know how many people write in here! 3?) Anyway, Michael, I love all the models you posted. I recently have a models febra, so that blog is a must and I want you all to know how much I appreciate everything you do. I always DO feel your love. Everything tastes better when you add just some love to it. That's why I love models, too. New faces amaze me, looking for them makes me feel better, maybe even more professional! <br /> <br /> So...<br /> <br /> 1. Sophie. I love her natural pictures, I think she's the best with freckles. I think she'll do a great job during the next Fashion Week!<br /> 2. Lucyna Amszej. I will start with: AWWW.... I love her more&more every single day. I was told she's done Elle UK with Giles recently, can't wait to see the pics! + I think she's extremely versatile what means we will surely see a lot of her! <br /> 3. Oxana.- Wonderful cheeckbones, that girl looks stunning in the second pic! I'm really really amazed, she's great. I can see her in Vogue Italia, really. She has delicious, big eyes! <br /> 4. Michela. Oooh, such a beautiful face. She's truly gorgeous in eds & polas. Thank you so much for discovering her, I should definitely take a look at her. Those eyes seem to ask for more.<br /> 5. Samantha! Not just a wonderful girl, but also a great personality! Those pics you posted, Michael, are very beautiful, one of my personal faves of Samantha. I also love her in red lipstick, what a lady!!!! Good luck to you, Samantha! I love your type of beauty and the creativity you show in every single pic!<br /> 6. Alex. Wow, what an adorable profil. She's got beautiful hair and what a cute nose! What a sweetie...<br /> 7. Claudia. Aww, I've heard a lot about her on 2pm if I'm not wrong. I love the second pic, it shows her pretty face perfectly. <br /> <br /> So in general I love Lucyna the most, but honestly, mostly because she's Polish and because her booker is on the the nicest people in this World :wub:<br /> <br /> I have a great time in here, great work!<br /> <br /> Take care!<br /> <br /> -Amelia-
Répondre
Publicité